Which teams have featured in 8 editions of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup?

The ninth edition of the  ICC Men’s T20 World Cup  kicked off on June 1 in the USA and the West Indies. The current season of the tournament is bigger and more exciting as it’s for the first time that the tournament has seen participation from 20 nations across the globe. The current season of the tournament has a total of three teams making their debut which includes the USA, Canada and Uganda.

USA, Canada, Namibia, Scotland, Oman, Papua New Guinea, the Netherlands and Nepal are the eight associate teams participating in the tournament. However, there are nine teams that have played all the editions of the Men’s T20 World Cup, and in this article, we have talked about those teams. 

Teams that participated in all editions of T20 World Cup

The 2024 edition that has 20 teams fighting for the ultimate trophy has nine teams making their ninth appearance in the marquee tournament. Those teams are: 

West Indies

westindies sportstiger

The two-time champions made their T20 World Cup debut in 2007 and won the trophy in 2012 and 2016. 


england sportstiger

The Three Lions are one of those nine teams who have appeared in all the nine editions of the marquee tournament. England are one of the two teams, apart from West Indies, to have won the title twice, in 2010 and 2022. 


team india sportstiger

The Men in Blue are headed into the 2024 edition of the tournament under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, are the inaugural winners. Under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, India lifted the trophy in 2007, the debut year of the tournament.


australia sportstiger

Australia, who are currently led by Mitchell Marsh in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 are one of the teams to have played all the nine editions. The Kangaroos have lifted the trophy once in 2021. 

Sri Lanka

sri lanka sportstiger

Regarded as one of the most dominating teams in the T20 World Cup, Sri Lanka are next in the list. The island nation has won the trophy once, in 2014. 


The 2009 T20 World Champions are headed into the 2024 edition under the leadership of Babar Azam. 

New Zealand

new zealand sportstiger

New Zealand were one of the nine teams that participated in the maiden season of the T20 World Cup. Kiwi’s best performance came in 2021, when they finished as runners-up after getting defeated by Australia in the final. The Black Caps are yet to lift the title. 

South Africa

south africa sportstiger

South Africa are another name in the list, and while they have been one of the top teams in the global cricketing scenario, they are yet to prove their mettle in the tournament. The Proteas have never made it to the final of the ICC event. Their best performance came in 2009 and 2014, when they finished as semi-finalists. 


bangladesh sportstiger

The South Asian giants, rather a strong team, Bangladesh haven’t been able to come up with decent performance in the tournament. Their best performance came in 2007 when they made it to the Super 8s. 

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode