Longest winning streaks for West Indies in T20Is

West Indies, the two-time former T20 World Cup champions, have been in quite a rich vein of form in the shortest format of the game currently. Under Rovman Powell’s captaincy, West Indies have won four matches in the group stages of the  T20 World Cup 2024  in front of their home fans, to make the next round of the competition in style.

In this article, SportsTiger looks at the longest winning streaks for West Indies in the T20I format.

4 wins in 2015-16

4 wins in 2015 16

The four-match winning streak for West Indies in T20I cricket began against Sri Lanka in the winter of 2015 before they went on to secure victories in their first three matches of the T20 World Cup 2026 group stage in India. Under the leadership of Daren Sammy, the West Indies got the better of England, Sri Lanka, and South Africa before losing to Afghanistan for the first time in the final group stage match of their victorious tournament campaign.

5 wins in 2017

5 wins in 2017

West Indies won five T20I matches for the first time in 2017, which started with a 3-0 series triumph against Afghanistan in Basseterre in the summer. Soon after, the fourth win came against India in Kingston before they went on to defeat England at Chester-le Street, but they couldn’t continue their five-match winning streak into something bigger after losing to New Zealand in Nelson in the winter month of December.

6 wins in 2012-13

6 wins in 2012 1

West Indies began their six-match winning streak in T20I cricket in the semi-final of the T20 World Cup 2012, getting the better of Australia before defeating Sri Lanka in their home patch in the final to win the tournament under Daren Sammy’s captaincy. The next few wins came against Bangladesh in Mirpur before 2013 began with success against Australia in Brisbane, and it continued at home with two victories against Zimbabwe in North Sound until Pakistan got the better of West Indies in Kingstown a few months later.

8 wins in 2024

8 wins in 2024

The eight-match winning streak for West Indies in T20I cricket began in the early part of 2024 against Australia in Perth before the team got the better of South Africa in the summer with a 3-0 series scoreline in Kingston. In the T20 World Cup 2024, Rovman Powell led West Indies to four consecutive wins in Group C against PNG, Uganda, New Zealand, and Afghanistan before England broke the streak in the Super 8 Group 2 match in Gros Islet yesterday.

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode