Umpire rules out Mark Wood’s low catch of Quinton de Kock during T20WC 2024 Super 8 clash; fans react

Internet got divided into the out and not out debate after the third umpire adjudged Mark Wood’s catch of Quinton de Kock to be grounded. On Friday, June 21, reigning champions England were up against South Africa for a T20 World Cup 2024 Super 8 clash at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet, St Lucia. England headed into the game on their first Super 8 win over West Indies, whereas South Africa had defeated the USA in their first Super 8 clash. 

The match saw English skipper Jos Buttler winning the toss and inviting the rivals to bat first. On the second ball of the ninth over, the umpire ruled out Mark Wood’s low catch of Quinton de Kock after an unclear replay. De Kock played an Adil Rashid delivery and Mark Wood on the boundary line claimed a low catch. However, the left-handed batter seemed unsatisfied and asked the umpires to have a look. 

On replay, the third umpire adjudged it as not out after being convinced that it wasn’t a clean catch, and the ball touched the ground. Despite claiming that his fingers were underneath the ball, the umpire didn’t change his decision and the South African batter survived. The incident sparked debate on X and while some fans claimed that it was a clean catch, some said otherwise and questioned the review system. 

However, De Kock was dismissed shortly after the incident at 65 runs off 38 deliveries. 

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode