5 IPL records that will never be broken

The Indian Premier League is the ultimate display of passion, skills, and extraordinary feats. Several records have been broken and created in seventeen seasons of the globally popular tournament. Cricketers have always put under exceptional shows of feats and unforgettable moments as the league established itself as one stage for unparalleled talent and entertainment. 

Five IPL records that are impossible to break

While records are meant to be broken, some notable feats in the T20 league defied the passage of time and still stand in the sands of the IPL history. In this article, we will look at five established records that seem impossible to be broken. 

Most runs in an IPL season 

The Indian batting maestro Virat Kohli has taken the world by storm with his exceptional talent and unwavering dedication. In the 2016 season, the former RCB captain who is regarded as one of the greatest batters in the world created an exceptional record by scoring a mammoth score of 973 runs in a single IPL season. His tally included four centuries and seven half-centuries, and even after so many years, no cricketer seems to be near the score, let alone breaking it. 

KKR’s 10-match winning streak 

Kolkata Knight Riders have been one of the most powerful teams in the cash-rich league. The Kolkata-based franchise has always performed like underdogs and made a mark almost every season. The Shah Rukh Khan-owned team achieved an extraordinary winning streak of 10 games across the 2014 and 2015 seasons. With their two titles, the team displayed their mettle and etched their name in the tournament. 

Alzarri Joseph’s maiden match heroics

Former MI star Alzarri Joseph unleashed his inner beast in his inaugural IPL match when his side clashed against SunRisers Hyderabad in the 2019 season. Joseph dismantled the rival batting lineup and sent shockwaves through the cricketing world. He surpassed Sohail Tanvir’s record figures of 6/14, which he achieved in the 2008 season of the IPL, to finish with 6/12 in 3.4 overs.

Chris Gayle’s 175*

Former RCB batter Chris Gayle came up with a memorable century in the 2013 season of the IPL and proved why he is known as the ‘Universe Boss’. In the game against Pune Warriors, Gayle came up with an unbeaten score of 175 runs. His innings comprised thirteen fours and seventeen sixes, which still stands as the highest individual score in the league’s history. 

Virat Kohli-ABD’s highest partnership

RCB superstars Virat Kohli and  AB de Villiers  built an iconic partnership for their side in the 2016 season of the tournament against Gujarat Lions. Eight years down the line, it still remains one of the most unforgettable partnerships in the history of the tournament. Kohli and De Villiers came up with a solid stand of 229 runs, where Kohli scored 109 runs off 55 deliveries, whereas Mr 360 contributed 129 runs off 52 deliveries. 



Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode