Best IPL XI of All-time – Check Here

In the rich history of the Indian Premier League (IPL), a plethora of top cricketers from India and all over the world have delivered exemplary performances season after season. Over the last 16 years or so, these top cricketers have done wonders to the standing of the IPL in world cricket, taking it to the whole new level.

With that, in this article, SportsTiger looks at the best IPL XI of all-time.

Openers: Chris Gayle, David Warner

Chris Gayle has been one of the most explosive batters at the top of the order in IPL history, scoring nearly 5k runs at a strike rate of nearly 150 in the tournament with six hundreds. David Warner is the synonym of consistency for the majority of his career in the IPL, accumulating 6,564 runs at an average of 40.77 and a strike-rate of nearly 140 with four hundreds and 62 fifties in 183 matches.

Middle Order: Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Kieron Pollard, Ravindra Jadeja

Virat Kohli is the highest run-scorer in the history of the IPL, notching up over 7,500 runs at an average of nearly 40 and a strike-rate above 130, with eight hundreds, the most in the history of the tournament. Suresh Raina has scored 5,528 runs at an average of 32.51, while his strike-rate stands at 136.73, making his name mainly by taking spinners to the cleaners in the middle overs.

Kieron Pollard has been one of the best finishers in the history of the IPL, finding ways to propel his team’s total to a position of strength time and again, at a strike-rate of 147.32. Ravindra Jadeja has been a standout in the tournament with his all-round skills, scoring runs at a decent tempo in the final stages of the innings, but it’s his wicket-taking ability, which is just as important if not more.

Wicketkeeper: MS Dhoni (c)

MS Dhoni has been a five-time IPL winning captain, who makes this all-time XI on his leadership skills alone. But he has been just as good with the bat, scoring over 5k runs at a strike-rate of 137, while his wicket-keeping skills have gone through the roof as the IPL has evolved in the last 16 years or so.

Bowlers: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been a strike bowler in the powerplay stage, but he also possesses the skill to curtail the flow of runs at the death overs, picking up 174 wickets at an economy of just over 7.5. Lasith Malinga has been one of the greatest bowlers in the history of the IPL, taking 170 wickets in just 122 appearances across 11 seasons at an economy of 7.14.

Jasprit Bumrah has made his name in the IPL nearly a decade ago, and since then, he has elevated his stature in the tournament, bowling in all phases of the innings with great accuracy and precision. Yuzvendra Chahal is the highest wicket taker in the history of the IPL, picking up 200 wickets in 174 matches at an economy of 7.75 in his 11-year career.


TRENDING STORIES, Trending News, CRICKET NEWS, CRICKET, IPL 2024, Latest News, IPL Special 

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode