No Virat Kohli in T20 World Cup 2024; Sanjay Manjrekar picks his 15-man squad

The T20 World Cup 2024 is scheduled from June 2 (IST) to June 29 (IST) in the West Indies and the United States. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) must finalise the players who will be a part of the official squad to represent India by May 1. Ahead of the official confirmation, former Indian batter Sanjay Manjrekar has predicted India’s probable 15-member squad for the upcoming shortest-format World Cup.

During a Star Sports segment, Sanjay Manjrekar picked his 15-member Indian squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 in the USA and West Indies in June. Interestingly, he snubbed the likes of Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya, and Rinku Singh among others while he picked players like Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshit Rana, Krunal Pandya, and others in his squad.

In a video shared by Star Sports on social media, the 58-year-old Indian commentator began by picking Rohit Sharma, and Yashasvi Jaiswal as the opening pair followed by Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, and Rishab Pant at no. 3, 4, and 5 respectively.

Manjrekar also picked the spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal (KulCha) while the most interesting names in his list are Harshit Rana, Mayank Yadav, and Krunal Pandya.

Watch the video here:

Manjrekar’s 15-man squad is quite arguable as he snubbed the orange cap holder in the ongoing IPL season and last year’s orange cap holder GT skipper Shubman Gill (890 runs). Team India will be looking to play their strongest side considering the players’ fitness and form.  After winning the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, Team India are yet to win a silverware in the shortest format competition.


Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode