SMAT 2023: Abhishek Sharma, Anmolpreet Singh run riot as Punjab post highest-ever total

The second day of the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2023 featured a historic achievement as Punjab posted the highest-ever total in the domestic Indian T20 league on Tuesday morning. Abhishek Sharma and Anmolpreet Singh’s blistering innings helped Punjab register a mammoth total of 275 runs with a loss of six wickets against the Andhra cricket team.

ALSO WATCH: Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Live Score 2023

Punjab opener Abhishek Sharma (112 off 51) and middle-order batter Anmolpreet Singh (87 off 26) smashed the Andhra bowlers to place a 276-run target in 20 overs. A total of four players ended with a strike rate of above 200 as Anmolpreet and Abhishek scored runs at a strike rate of around 334 and 219 respectively.

Abhishek Sharma smashed nine fours and sixes each in his inning before getting dismissed in the 16th over when Punjab’s score was 208 for 3. Two overs later, Anmolpreet went for six fours and nine sixes as he was dismissed when Punjab were at 251. In the final two overs, Punjab batters scored 24 runs to take their team’s total to 275 runs.

In another match, Kolkata Knight Riders spinner Suyash Sharma picked 5 for 13 on his Delhi debut in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy against Madhya Pradesh as the latter were restricted to 115 runs with a loss of nine wickets.


Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode