T20 World Cup Winners: List of all Champions from 2007 to 2022

Celebrating cricket’s most exciting formats – T20 cricket, the International Cricket Council introduced the T20 World Cup in 2007. This global tournament legitimized this new format and has taken cricket to newer heights. With 2024 edition of the T20 World Cup just a few weeks away, let us look back at all the winners of this prestigious tournament.

T20 World Cup Winners from 2007 to 2022

T20 World Cup  2007 – India

The inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup saw India defeat arch-rivals Pakistan in the final. Playing in South Africa, the Men in Blue fielded a young squad with MS Dhoni kick-starting his captaincy reign. Through the tournament, India lost just once against New Zealand and took power houses like England, South Africa and Australia to reach the final.

T20 World Cup 2009- Pakistan

Redeeming themselves after losing the 2007 final, Pakistan defeated their Asian counterparts Sri Lanka to win the 2009  T20 World Cup in England. The Green Army lost two out of their first three games against Sri Lanka and England. But won their next three games to clinch the title at the Lord’s with an eight-wicket margin.

T20 World Cup 2010 – England

With the ODI World Cup scheduled in 2011, the T20 World Cup was played in 2010 where England won their first ICC trophy. England had two rain-affected opening games which resulted in one loss and a no result. Then the Three Lions went on a five-game winning which included defeating Australia in the final by seven wickets.

T20 World Cup  2012 – West Indies

The fourth edition of the T20 World Cup saw the superstars of T20 cricket, West Indies lift the trophy in Sri Lanka. After suffering two defeats and a no result in the first five games, the Windies crawled through to the knockouts and here destroyed the Aussies and taking down the hosts Sri Lanka in the final to lift elusive trophy.

T20 World Cup  2014 – Sri Lanka

After losing two World Cup finals, Sri Lanka final won the 2014 T20 World Cup in Bangladesh. The Lankans lost only one game in entire title-winning run but comprehensively defeated every opposition. In the knockout, Sri Lanka took out the Windies and neutralized India by six wickets to lift the trophy.

T20 World Cup  2016 – West Indies

Cementing themselves as the masters of the T20 format, West Indies became the first team win the T20 World Cup twice by emerging victorious in the 2016 edition hosted by India. After winning the first three games, West Indies suffered their solitary loss against Afghanistan in the group stage. Then in the knocks, the Calypso kings took down India in the semis and then England in the final thanks to Carlos Brathwaite’s four sixes in the final over.

T20 World Cup  2021 – Australia

With a lock jam of ICC events and a pandemic, the T20 World Cup returned after a six years in 2021 where Australia won its maiden T20 title. Aussies lost just one game through their title charge against England while dominating the every other opposition. Then in the final, Mitch Marsh helped Australia overpower New Zealand as they registered a eight-wicket win.

T20 World Cup  2022 – England

The most recent edition of the T20 World Cup in 2022 saw England become the second team to win two world titles in tournament history. Coming off their triumphant ODI World Cup winning campaign, the Three Lions had a streaky start as they barely defeat Afghanistan and suffered a shock defeat against Ireland. But after these results, the English went on a four-game undefeated run to clinch their second T20 World Cup title.



Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode