World Athletics nominates Neeraj Chopra for Men’s World Athlete of the Year award

Indian javelin star Neeraj Chopra has been nominated for the Men’s World Athlete of the Year prize at the World Athletics Awards 2023. Concluding an injury-riddled yet successful year, managed to win the World Championships title in August in Budapest, a second-place finish in the Diamond League finals in September and the Asian Games 2023 gold medal in October.

Also Re ad:  Neeraj Chopra believes he is yet to achieve his potential after Asian Games gold

For the Men’s World Athlete of the Year award, Neeraj Chopra will go against the likes of Ryan Crouser and Noah Lyles of the USA, Swedish pole vaulter Mondo Duplantis, who won the award two of the last three years, Kenyan Kelvin Kiptum, who broke the men’s marathon world record in running 2 hours, 35 seconds in Chicago and more. The awards will decided with a three-way voting process that determines five finalists. 

The votes will be divided into – the World Athletics Council vote (50%), the World Athletics family vote (25%) and the public vote through Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube (25%). The voting will close at midnight on October 28 and the World Athletics will be announcing women’s and men’s finalists Nov. 13-14. The winners will be announced on December 11.

Check out the nominees for 2023 Men’s World Athlete of the Year here:

Neeraj Chopra (India), javelin

· World champion

· Asian Games champion

Ryan Crouser, (USA), shot put

· World champion

· World record

Mondo Duplantis, Sweden, pole vault

· World champion

· Diamond League champion with world record

Soufiane El Bakkali, (Morocco), 3000m steeplechase

· World champion

· Undefeated in six finals

Jakob Ingebrigtsen, (Norway), 1500m/mile/5000m

· World 5000m champion and 1500m silver medallist

· European records for 1500m, mile and 3000m

Kelvin Kiptum, (Kenya), marathon

· London and Chicago Marathon winner

· Marathon world record breaker

Pierce LePage, (Canada), decathlon

· World champion

· World leader

Noah Lyles, (USA), 100m/200m

· World 100m and 200m champion

· World leader and undefeated in six finals at 200m

Alvaro Martin, Spain, race walk

· World 20km and 35km race walk champion

· World leader 20km race walk

Miltiadis Tentoglou, long jump

· World champion

· European Indoor champion

Karsten Warholm, Norway, 400m hurdles/400m

· World 400m hurdles champion

· European indoor 400m champion

 Athletics, TRENDING STORIES, Trending News

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode